Candles...

dean1012

Dec 28, 2007
Hello. This is my first time posting here. I am a father with one daughter. She is my only child. She has an interest in candles. She loves their various scents, colors, shapes, types, and sizes. She is even interested in making candles. Lately, she has been asking me if she can light the candles and even if she can have her own candles. To my knowledge, she has never touched a lighter or any fire making tool and I do not believe she has an interest in playing with fire. I believe her interest is truly in the candles.

I know that women quite often love candles and I don't see anything wrong with her interest. What age should I allow her to have her own candles? What age should I allow her to have them in her room? What age should I allow her to light candles (whether they are in her room or not)?

She is fairly responsible for her age (she is 9) and I am probably just being over protective but I am nervous even letting her touch a lighter or match. We've always taught her to bring them to us if she ever finds them. Now i'm wondering if I can let her have a candle!

Another semi-related question:

We've been considering doing a family activity to create a set of survival kits. I know, at least in the boy scouts, we were told to carry waterproof matches and an emergency candle (among other things) in our survival kits. At her age, is it appropriate to include these items in her kit and educate her in their uses?

I hope some more seasoned parents can help out here. Thanks.

Kaytee

PF Deity
Apr 9, 2007
Texas
I think it depends on the child. I also would think most likely she is just interested in lighting candles. I would not let her have them in her room at this point unless you are the one that monitors them being off. I think that at 9, things come up and they can be forgetful, for example:
parent: are you ready to go to the zoo?
child: yeah!!!!
parent: did you blow your candles out?
child: yes dad, geez!!"