drawing aid...

bssage

Super Moderator
Oct 20, 2008
Iowa
My boy 8 loves to draw. He is doing pretty well imitating comics. I was wondering if there is any good books that could help him master some of the drawing basics.

Remember he is 8. I am not sure about talent (I think his drawings are great). But I am sure he is very focused and driven about getting good at this. I have given him templates and stencils from when I was an engineer. I am looking more for a basic, fun type of instruction on some of the fundamentels.

Bryan

Xero

PF Deity
Mar 20, 2008
PA
You should try Amazon.com. I saw a book called "My first tracing book" and I'm sure there's other good titles.

NinJaBob

PF Addict
Sep 29, 2008
Ohio
This may be a little old for him but there is absolutely no better drawing book than <U>Drawing On the Right Side of The Brain</U> by Betty Edwards. At Amazon you can check out the chapters and see for yourself but the techniques are going to take you from a beginner to an expert. It's that good. Not sure if she has done any books for kids but I would check out her collection.

<AMAZON id="0874774195" url="http://www.amazon.com/New-Drawing-Right-Side-Brain/dp/0874774195/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&amp;s=books&amp;qid=1225941949&amp;sr=8-2">http://www.amazon.com/New-Drawing-Right-Side-Brain/dp/0874774195/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&amp;s=books&amp;qid=1225941949&amp;sr=8-2</AMAZON>

-Phil

Trina

PF Addict
Jun 10, 2007
CT
My son has had a knack for drawing since he was very little. We have bought him several different books that he refers to, but he has benefitted the most from taking classes at a local Cartoonist Academy. Look into drawing classes in your area.

Nikita

PF Fanatic
Jun 10, 2008
London, ON