Effects of Consumerism...

momwifestudent

Oct 6, 2008
Hi Everyone,

My name is Sara. I'm a veteran of the US Air Force, mom of a brilliant 16 year old boy, wife to a fabulous artist, full time employee in the IT field, and did I mention, 1/2 time student?

I hope you can take a few minutes to answer a 10 question survey I have compiled for a research paper I am doing on the effects of consumerism on kids and families. Your identity will not be used/disclosed when presenting my data for this paper. I'm trying to get my degree in Industrial Design, and had to pick a controversial topic related to my area of study. Please simply enter the question number and corresponding letter response in your replies (eg: 1. d; 2.c etc). Your help is greatly appreciated!

If you are not comfortable posting your reply here, please email it to me at: onehundredtwofarenheit at yahoo dot com with ECS in the subject line.

Thank You So Much!

When it comes to non-esential purchases like toys, games and DVDs, on average, I spend between:[/SIZE]</SIZE>
$0-25 per month per child</SIZE>[/FONT]
$25-50 per month per child</SIZE>[/FONT]
$50-75 per month per child</SIZE>[/FONT]
$75-100 per month per child</SIZE>[/FONT]
More than $100 per month per child</SIZE>[/FONT]

The purchases are made when:[/SIZE]</SIZE>
On impulse</SIZE>[/FONT]
My kids have been on their best behavior</SIZE>[/FONT]
As a bribe</SIZE>[/FONT]
Out of guilt for working long hours</SIZE>[/FONT]
To avoid a scene at the store</SIZE>[/FONT]
Other</SIZE>[/FONT]

For expensive items like handheld games and iPods my kids contribute:</SIZE>[/FONT]
$0 toward the purchase</SIZE>[/FONT]
Their allowance toward the purchase</SIZE>[/FONT]
½ of the purchase</SIZE>[/FONT]
More than ½ of the purchase</SIZE>[/FONT]

At what age do you think children begin to differentiate between commercials and programming on TV?</SIZE>[/FONT]
Around age 3 or 4[/SIZE]</SIZE>
Around age 5 or 6</SIZE>[/FONT]
Around age 7 or 8</SIZE>[/FONT]