Feeling a bit lost......

brooklyn07

Sep 8, 2016
Hi All

I am a newbie here and I would really appreciate some advice on how to handle the following:-

Boyfriend and I have been together for 4 years, we don't have children together, we aren't married and we don't live together. He has one child 8 from a previous marriage. The marriage ended before I came along and we were together for a year before I met his son.
His son absolutely adores me - there are no issues there whatsoever. The problem is with my boyfriends ex wife.

There are no set arragements in place for when my boyfriend sees his son, contact only happens when his ex wife hasn't arranged some activity for their son.

My boyfriend is a farmer and works crazy hours, really long hours in the summer as that's when he makes his money to get him through winter - I totally understand this and fully support him and help him whenever I can.
If he is working really late then he wont have his son for example.

It has come to a huge head over the summer holidays - my boyfriend has hardly spent any time with his son because the exwife has been off every day doing some form of activity or another - my boyfriend didn't want to say anything to his exwife about it because he felt that his son was probably better off doing something fun and experiencing other things than being stuck in a tractor or round the farm all day so he just dealt with it himself.

On the odd occasion that he did end up seeing his son the ex wife would say you can have him for the next 2 days - so I would then ask what he would like for evening meal and go out and buy the ingredients as hes a fussy eater and will only eat certain things, he wont eat anything that I would normally cook for myself and boyfriend for example.
Then she would ring the following day and say change of plan I am having him tonight I am taking him to do x y z - my boyfriend would ask his son if he wanted to go, he would say yes and so off he would go.