gendered toys opinions needed!...

deeb176

Mar 16, 2010
Hi

I'm a student studying a media degree, I am currently working on a project in which I have to design and market a product. I want to create a range of male and female dolls, aimed at 3 to 5 year olds, that encourage children to play with toys that they like rather than toys that are generally acceptable for their gender. The idea is you buy a doll, either a boy or girl which will come with a childrens book that tells a story of a boy and a girl that want to take part in activities that are typically for the opposite gender, it will conclude that the childrens parents arrange for them to play together with a number of toys such as football, baby dolls, cookery sets, trains etc and will tell them that it is ok to do this if it makes them happy.

I want to give children a choice when it comes to dolls, rather than being given a boy doll that comes with a racing car, for example, I want the child to be able to choose whether they'd rather have that or say a tea set.

The range will include various accessories that can be bought separately in order to let the child decide which gendered doll they'd like and which activities they want the doll to take part in.

The aim is to get across to children that it is ok to like any toy, prefer any colour or play any game and to reject the idea that there are certain rules in terms of gender. I believe that there are many inequalities in childrens toys, for example you can buy many boy dolls that come with dinosaurs or dragons and encourage active play whereas girl dolls may come with a "cute pony" or "cuddly bear", why can't girls go on exciting adventures when they play?