I'm new at punishment and don't know what to do....

hattyfield

Jan 23, 2008
Boston, MA
I have a 17 year old son who has been having issues just recently. For 16 years he has been great, good grades, stays out of trouble, has never drank, smoked, or any of the influences the poor teenagers have had these days. Unfortunately, the other day he took a trip down to NY, from our home town in Boston, to visit a girl he cares for very much. He took my wifes car without notice and we didn't recieve a phone call about an hour after we knew he was gone. When we got the call he was already there, he said he'd come back and admitted being wrong, and that what he did was stupid. He came back at about 1 that morning.
I don't know what to do and how to punish him. I told him he couldn't use the car anymore except for necessities, he won't be able to play Xbox for the next month, and he can't be on the internet past 10, and he can't talk to the girl over the phone anymore. Is that right? Was I being too hard on him? Please.. The past few days he's been very upset he hasn't been able to talk to this girl and I am afraid that he really cares about her, but I want to stick to my decision. Should I back off? Is there another way to go about punishing him... Please help!

-Paul

musicmom

PF Visionary
Dec 4, 2007
Let's see.........he stole your car and he got his video games taken away. He made this stupid choice because of this girl so he's no longer aloud to talk to her.......You think you are being hard??? If this is as hard as you are going to get then no I do not think you are being hard on him. He's lucky he's not my child. The "what if's" are enough for me to go balistic.

kjcandles

Jan 22, 2008
New Hampshire