Male daycare provider...

pwsowner

PF Enthusiast
May 15, 2013
Ontario, Canada
My public restrooms topic got into discussion of a new business I'm starting, so I decided to start a new thread on that topic. That way we can keep the other thread on its original topic.

I'm a single male, and I'm starting a home-based daycare business to launch late October, caring for 4 or 5 children in my home. Male child care is different, but is being accepted, at least around here in Ontario, Canada.

I first started considering the idea 2 years ago. I've had plenty of experience taking care of other people's children on the occasional basis, and had plans to have a family of my own since I was a teen, but my life didn't work out that way. I'm 49 and single. Pretty slim chance of having my own family now, so if I'm not going to have a family of my own, and I love taking care of children, I'll spend the next 10 to 15 years taking care of other people's children full time.

I spent plenty of time researching the idea, and have talked to many and received a variety of opinions. The last 3 Saturdays I've even been going to yard sales to get some of the things I will need for my new business. At 3 of the yard sales they asked me how old my children were. I told them what I was doing, and all 3 had positive comments and remarks. One said she used to run a daycare business and she's had a few parents wishing there were male providers. Single mothers would like a male figure in their child's life.

Most of the people who know me and what I'm like with children think it's a great idea. The only people who don't think it's a great idea are the ones who think that's a woman's job.

Remember the women's lib days? I was a teen when that was a big deal, and I rooted for the women. Nothing wrong with women police or firefighters, or male nurses, or even male child care providers. Some men can take care of children better than some women.