My Kid Will NOT Eat...

softmommy80

Apr 19, 2008
I have been fighting with my little boy for the last 3 years everytime we have lunch or dinner. He will have a great breakfast, with yogurt, cereal, brown bread and fruit but then lunch comes around and he is not hungry or refuses to eat anything that I make. I am really tired of fighting for everymean especially after I have finished preperaing it and would just like to sit down and relax.
Any suggestions?

Kaytee

PF Deity
Apr 9, 2007
Texas
I say as long as he is not just eating junk food all day and that is why he won't eat, then let him be. He just doesn't need the food. Now if he is snacking all day, then that needs to stop.

Trina

PF Addict
Jun 10, 2007
CT
<r>Don't fight. Serve healthy meals and snacks. If they eat, fine, if they don't fine. No biggie. I noticed my kids ate much better once I stopped making a big deal out of it. Also, look at what they eat over several days as opposed to on a daily basis. My DD will appear to just nibble for several days and then she'll eat like a cow for a day or two. Our doctor said that's totally normal. <br/>
<br/>
<URL url="</s>Kids' Picky Eating: Natural or Learned?<e></e></URL><br/>
<br/>
&lt;I&gt;&lt;s&gt;<I>&lt;/s&gt;&lt;COLOR color="blue"&gt;&lt;s&gt;&lt;/s&gt;To further reduce the chance of picky eating, don’t let mealtimes become a power struggle. Behavior scientists see control issues promoting picky eating at least, in some children. Let there be a division of responsibility: parents and caregivers should decide what foods are offered and when. Kids should have sole responsibility for deciding how much to eat. This teaches them to use internal hunger signals to eat only what they need – something many adults raised in the “clean your plate” style find difficult&lt;e&gt;&lt;/e&gt;&lt;/COLOR&gt;&lt;e&gt;</I>&lt;/e&gt;&lt;/I&gt;&lt;/r&gt;

anyavanr

Apr 22, 2008