not about parenting, but it is about a parent I met from freecycle. (rant)...

veronicadavis

PF Enthusiast
Dec 28, 2007
Ft belvoir VA
So, in case you don't know this about me (which you likely don't), I'm an artist, its my only real skill...I sell portraits and things to earn extra money

well, I was looking on freecycle and there was a woman looking for stuffed animals, ok, I had some, no big deal, I offered them. We got to talking and she was having a 5th Bday party for her Daughter...I was in a good mood and I said I'd be happy to help out, I have streamers, maybe I could draw a little Dora or something. Well, she liked the idea, asked me to draw a 3ft Dora...ok...then Diego, then Boots. She did offer to pay me but I noticed she was a caterer and I told her I would happily do the work for a few cinnamon rolls. I committed at least 7 hours to this project...I suggested to the woman that she could pick me up a chicken sandwich from burger king because it was more work than I expected it to be...heck, they only cost $1...well, she showed up, I gave her 2 bags of stuff, plus the pictures I drew (which looked damn good) and then asked where my cinnamon rolls were...she...FORGOT THEM!! :arghh:
Thats like going to walmart and putting everything up there and telling the teller "Oh, I forgot my purse, but since I drove all the way here, let me have everything free"...yeah, that woul NOT fly. I was polite...I did pout a little. I carried the drawings out to her car...I was upset but I acted friendly because I'm not an asshole....I asked her if we could at least be invited to the party ...( so what, she ripped me off)...well she told me when, but not where...said she'd e-mail the details to me...well, she'd better, because as far as I'm concerned, what she did was like paying with credit card, she owes me!