Please help you all are my last hope!!...

Bluerose

Oct 8, 2016
Hi everyone
First of all I'm not a mom- but I kind of found myself in this position and I am going insane!!
Basically I'm a college student, I have a ten year old sister who I take care of like a mother. Our mom has checked out of our life and i do everything- cook for her help with homework etc
My problem is she is so absolutely bratty-she expects me to get her meals in bed, literally stays all day on her iPad , throws tantrums for simple things like going to bed , doing her homework or even brushing her teeth.
I acknowledge that I'm not a saint myself and il definitely not a cuddly touchy-feely person I go out of my way to tell her I love her and care about her, however every time she gets angry she cusses at me and says I hate you you're a horrible sister I wish you weren't there and I find it really hurtful tbh.
Sorry about the wall of text I'm just really worried about her and insanely stressed what with classes and everything
Please help

artmom

PF Fanatic
Feb 26, 2015
Canada
First, I just want to say kudos for sticking around for sister. A parent is someone who has taken on parental responsibilities to a child. Therefore, you are a parental guardian.

However, you sound like you need some extra help and support. Is there family you can reach out to? Where is your father? Have you reached out to the school's guidance counsellor, your colleges or your sisters? Has your sister received counselling or therapy for the abandonment?
If not, those are something you need to consider in order to move forward.

For now, please realize that your sister may be one of those kids that needs a lot of comforting and may be looking for ways to request extra attention and love. Perhaps what she is asking for she was once getting from her mother before she took off.