Products for 0 to 5 year olds...

badgers

Feb 5, 2008
Hi,

I am a student at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. I am currently taking a Marketing class and have been assigned a project in which I must create a marketing plan for a product for children aged 0 to 5 (the target market can be anything within that range, for example 4-5 years old or 2-3, etc).

I have no contact with children of that age and have no idea what popular products are. The product can be anything--food, games, toys, etc. I was wondering if any parents out there with children in this age group have any suggestions or ideas for certain products I might be able to make a marketing plan for.

Any feedback is appreciated. Thank you

musicmom

PF Visionary
Dec 4, 2007
Let's see.........children 0-5 love bright colors, the wierder the toy the better. My daughter saw this thing the other day that facinated her. It was a back scratcher and when you turned it upside down it sounded like an odd cats meow. It worked almost like a rain stick does. For the life of her she could NOT figure out what was making that sound. Eventually when she figured it out (she's six) she wanted to know more about it like how it made that sound in a tiny long tube.
So maybe one of those that is bright in color, that's not breakable. I'm sure they have them for kids somewhere. As a parent it was really funny to watch.

Kaytee

PF Deity
Apr 9, 2007
Texas
well I can give you a list that is 10 pages long, do youhave anything specific in mind?

FooserX

PF Addict
Jul 11, 2007
Denver
Anything with super heroes will have my son's attention.

Cups, dishes, shirts, shoes, pajamas, toothbrushes...you name it...if it has superheroes on it, my son wants it.

badgers

Feb 5, 2008
thanks those are great suggestions.

what about any products that you wish you could improve or change? or something that makes a certain product unique/better than all its competing products?

FooserX

PF Addict
Jul 11, 2007
Denver