Sharpening a childs memory...

jack123

PF Enthusiast
May 9, 2012
What according to you are the best ways to help your child memorize their studies. Things like spellings, poems, history, mathematical formulas etc. I personally feeling writing and learning helps memorize faster. Whats your point of view on memorizing. Please share some tips.

tadamsmar

Banned
Jun 21, 2012
Check this out, software and the principles.

http://www.wired.com/medtech/health/magazine/16-05/ff_wozniak?currentPage=all[/URL]

Here's supermemo 4 kids.

http://supermemo-4-kids-my-first-english-words.software.informer.com/[/URL]

I have limited experience with supermemo and none with the kid version.

You can make flash cards and use the reminder schedule in the Wired article. Or just help your kids practice at intervals specified in the reminder schedule.

And there are associative memory methods like this one, but I have never found this to be all that useful for anything but parlor tricks:

http://www.toiletpaperentrepreneur.com/skill-toolbox/acquire-a-photographic-memory-in-3-minutes-guaranteed/[/URL]

anrawool

Aug 15, 2012
Hyderabad
Are you looking for suggestions to improve memory or teach spellings, maths, poems etc.

My son learns a lot when I teach me something through play. So I usually try to teach him while playing. For example he just does not remember yellow color for some reason. And is a fanatic for cars.

So I got him some yellow cars and showed him different cars on the road with yellow colors. He eventually got the color.

The same thing I did with his rhymes. Started singing, dancing and acting with him and he eventually started liking them and now has memorized most of them.

nwcrazy

PF Enthusiast
Aug 28, 2011
Put information in context. As my brother would say, "information without context is meaningless". In the sciences for example, remembering formulas is much easier when one understands concepts through hands on experiments.