Failure to launch. Page 1...

kwood

Apr 13, 2012
Hi, my name is Kelly. I made my introduction on the intro forum and now I can post.

As I mentioned there, I am 43 years old, been to war and been shot at, I've lived a really great life so far, I'm an artist, photographer and computer person, I race go karts with my 12 yr old daughter, and even started a website that still sits at #1 in its field. I live in SLC utah and I'm not religious. I smoke and drink a few beers after dinner. (don't worry, it's Utah beer... 3.2%.. ya just go to the bathroom a lot)

Since my situation covers a few areas, I wasn't sure which forum to put it in. I am a step father and that's where it started, so... I have a story.

PAGE 1. (page 2 is in the reply, too many characters for a post I guess)

It's about a strung together family, a failure to launch 20-something adult child, and me venting/needing advice.

Sorry for the lengthy story, but I feel it's needed to get a grasp on my situation. If there's any typos or offensive language in it, I apologize. I try to keep it clean.

15 years ago, I met my wife on AOL when windows 95 was new. She was 35, in a wheelchair, and living in Michigan. In the small time we chatted on line, it became evident that her current marriage was on the rocks.

A mere 3 weeks after we'd met online, she came to visit me and never went back. The day she came, she had to have her friends sneak her from her house to the airport with her husband trying to stop her.

She left her husband (who was mentally abusive and even locked her in the house) and her 3 daughters behind. They were very young. 6, 8, and 9 years old.

This event is what I believe sets in motion the path that one of these girls will follow.

Strike 1. Our mommy left us.