homework...

fallon

Super Moderator
Jul 19, 2007
Michigan
I need help :arghh: I sat down with my daughter yesterday to do her homework and ended up crying. The whole thing was so freakin' frusterating. She wasn't paying attention AT ALL...I seriously almost lost mind. I need ideas my friends, we are only in Kindergarten here and homework should result in both of us crying:arghh:

Kaytee

PF Deity
Apr 9, 2007
Texas
calm down!! lol I have no suggestion from experience obviously. I would say make sure there is absolutly NO distractions in the room with you. Hopefully ones with kids yor

fallon

Super Moderator
Jul 19, 2007
Michigan
well we sat at the kitchen table and I turned off the TV in the livingroom so she couldn't even hear it. Logan was napping and the house was quite as could be. I have to missing something...lol I felt like the worst parent ever by the time it was all over

1dayatatime

PF Addict
Oct 3, 2007
AZ
Ya I have nothing. I'm sorry it was so frustrating. When I'm trying to explain something or teach something to DD and I feel myself getting frusrated and she's not listening. I tell her I feel like your not listening. Then I stop whatever we we're working on and come back to it later. Sometimes it works sometimes she still doesn't pay attention. As much as I hate rewarding something you should be doing anyway....what if there was a reward for finishing the homework?

Kaytee

PF Deity
Apr 9, 2007
Texas
sorry I never finished the post I was typing lol. I meant to say hopefully someone with experience will be able to help.

Maybe a small reward is good. Something like when you finish your homework you can have a sticker. That way its nothing big but just something little.

fallon

Super Moderator
Jul 19, 2007
Michigan
I'm thinking for a while anyways there might have to be a reward system. Yesterday I took away all that is fun until the homework was done so she just took a nap on the couch.

Trina

PF Addict
Jun 10, 2007
CT