How to Tell Toddler He is Adopted...

Andrea Brown

Jan 5, 2012
We have four beautiful children and our fourth, a lovely son, was adopted. He is now 2 1/2 and we are seeking advice about telling him about his adoption.

Does anybody have advice or experience to share with us? We really want to do this right. Honestly, our lovely son is a dear to us as if he were blood. It is very important to us that we share this with him over time in the most loving way possible, so he knows how very loved and wanted he is.

Thank you for any help you can provide!

Andrea

Henrike

Feb 2, 2012
Hello Andrea,
Although I have no experience with your current situation, my gut feeling tells me that it may still be a bit early to drop this on your son. My nephew is 2 years and 4 months old now and he is strugglig to figure out why his baby sibbling is in mum's belly and not his dad's or his own... :) I think there is no risk that he will later complain about having been left about his biological ancestry by you for too long.
All the best to you and your family,
Hen

bssage

Super Moderator
Oct 20, 2008
Iowa
I have a nephew who was adopted. Next time I talk to my brother I will ask. But I also am pretty confident that 2.5 is to young. IMHO he would need to be at a age where he can understand at least some of the complexities involved.

Buttaflly227

PF Regular
Jan 31, 2012
Well congratulations on having such a nice big family!