I haven't been here in a lonnnng time.......

PattiS

Feb 20, 2007
Florida
so, to catch up a little, I want to ask a question. It may have been posted before, but here goes.

Does anyone here have children with Tourette's Syndrome? My dd was recently diagnosed with it and is on meds for it now. We are still working on the dosage.

Any advice you have will help alot, thanks!!

Kaytee

PF Deity
Apr 9, 2007
Texas
sorry, no experience here. I have heard that it is becoming more common in children. Have you tried finding a forum that is specifically for Tourettes?

Welcome back btw and hope you stick around and maybe teach us about your dd conditoin

PattiS

Feb 20, 2007
Florida
Hi Kaytee, thanks for responding. I am actually a member of a board at cafemom. They have one especially for TS. I just thought I would see what other experiences I could hear about. If there are other parents of kids with TS, I could talk about my dd's situation, although I am far from an expert!!

Kaytee

PF Deity
Apr 9, 2007
Texas
no but you are more knowledgeable then most parents so therefore you are the expert amoung us!!
I am glad you found a forum that has more people, and you never know someone might be browsing this and have a child in the same situation

jrrsmom

PF Fiend
Nov 10, 2007
She mostly just makes noises. I don't know how to explain them other than 'grunts' and that's not really what they are. She twitches her head a lot. Almost to the point to where you want to do it with her. She exaggerates the first syllable of her words most of the time.

She was diagnosed around 12 I think. She was hit by a car on her bike and they think that 'triggered' it.

She was on medication as a child but she was very very groggy and couldn't function. She does not take it now.