Is Bi-Lingual Education Important to You?...

May 28, 2008
My daughter has been speaking/learning Spanish since the age of two- I started learning Spanish at age 10 and always wished I'd learned it earlier. I think it's very important for kids to be bi-lingual.

What do you all think? I know being bilingual or tri-lingual is common practice in Europe but it seems in the US like we don't care as much because English is "all we need." I think that's kind of shortsighted and putting kids at a disadvantage. I wish I had grown up speaking five languages!

Claire64

PF Fanatic
Mar 10, 2008
My kids have been learning Spanish in school, starting in 4th grade. They also know some people who speak a lot of Spanish, so they get some in the community.

I speak both English and French (my mom is from Quebec) so my kids get some French too.

I do think that speaking more than one language is very important. I love learning languages and at one point, I could communicate pretty well in Italian, German and Spanish, but I haven't kept it up.

I encourage my kids to speak Spanish and French whenever they have the chance and they actually like it.

fallon

Super Moderator
Jul 19, 2007
Michigan
my daughter started learning Spanish at 2. I think it's wonderful for children to learn more then one lang. I also think it's very important for them to learn about the cultures also

Trina

PF Addict
Jun 10, 2007
CT