Issues With Wife, and Extended Family...

mr.mom

PF Regular
Jun 4, 2012
U.S.A.
I originally posted this in the Intro section, but re posted this in a more relevant forum. I also added a little.

I guess I will start with some background. I have been parenting my stepson "Billy" for over 4 years now. There have been ups and downs as with every parent/child relationship. He does have some behavior issues which I have been primarily dealing with. His mother works almost 60 hours a week which leaves me with the child duties. I enjoy being a full time parent, but sometimes things can get difficult between my wife and myself. We sometimes have different opinions on how to handle him, but it never really effects us long term. These last couple of days has been very difficult, because I feel like things have changed. Our son goes to my wife's fathers house on Saturdays, and he is a real pain in the butt. He completely idolizes Billy, and obsesses over him. Even if Billy hasn't been behaving, and my wife or myself tells her dad to restrict is vist (no tv, or take out dinners), he doesn't listen. There was an instance about a month ago where I picked Billy up from his grandpas, and asked him how the day was, and what they had for dinner. To make a long story short, he lied about the dinner, and said that the grandpa told him to do so. I talked to the grandpa about it, and said that Billy couldn't stay there all day. He pleaded with me and promised it wouldn't happen again. I am going to shorten this situation, and if details are needed as the topic progresses, I will add them. Fast forward to last weekend. It had come out by Billy that he had eaten fast food for lunch with the grandpa two weeks in a row when he shouldn't have. I was very upset by this and had said that he shouldn't go over there, because the gpa had no regard for my wife or myself, and was making Billy lie and feel guilty. My wife had agreed, and said that when her mom moves out here in July that Billy could