My wife has the H word :(...

Pokerjay24

Jun 1, 2012
Hemorrhoids (spelling?)

She's in her eighth month of pregnancy and she discovered a painful bulging spot where the sun don't shine! She had a mild case of hems. after she gave birth to our first child .. It went away in about 3 weeks ..

I feel helpless .. She's in great discomfort and pain .. It also affects her sleep .. She's got the creams and stuff, and knows that she should take sitz baths, but still, her attitude is very negative because she dreads having to live like this for a full month .. She's having a hard time moving from point A to point B.

I feel this puts a negative vibe on the last month of pregnancy. Maybe i am dramatizing this more than it really is (worse things could happen).

Any hope that the hems. might subside in a few days time, for her to at least be able to function around the house? I'm no expert at this (clearly!), i've never had them .. I don't like seeing her like this:(

Thanks for your help and reassurance!

Xero

PF Deity
Mar 20, 2008
PA
Aww haha, yeah pregnancy sucks just the way it is! I feel bad for her. Hang in there. A month sounds like a long time, but it will be over before you know it. Unfortunately, they tend to come back/get worse after birth of course due to the pressure and the strain. Then they should go away some time after that though. For some people it only takes a week, for others it can take months to get rid of them. There's no way of telling what will happen with your wife, as everyone is different.

Anyway, there are a couple things I can recommend. Tucks pads could make her more comfortable, I have heard many good things about them:

http://www.tucksbrand.com/