Something we are trying...

apochimongitus

Jan 24, 2012
Hi all,

I have 2 kids and I'm fairly new to this parenting forum (although not new to parenting :D). Our kids are 8 and 6 so we have all those things like, homework, chores and TV that compete for our kids time and interest. We have recently started doing a system of reward/consequence that has made this very easy in our house. It's called (removed by mom2many) and it has helped us heaps. I'd be interested to hear if anyone has tried a similar system and how it has worked/not worked for you.

Cheers,

A.

Last edited by a moderator:

parentastic

PF Fiend
Jul 22, 2011
Canada
apochimongitus said:
We have recently started doing a system of reward/consequence that has made this very easy in our house. It's called the button economy and it has helped us heaps. I'd be interested to hear if anyone has tried a similar system and how it has worked/not worked for you.
From a developmental psychology stand point, I don't even know where to start to tell you how much I think this "economy" is counter-productive, if not downright damaging. :mad:
See Kohn, A. (1999). <I>Punished by rewards: the trouble with gold stars, incentive plans, A's, Praise and other bribes</I>, New York: Houghton Mifflin.

Oh, and one more thing. advertising external sites is against the rules, just so you know.

Dadu2004

PF Visionary
May 16, 2008
Cleveland, OH
Please do not solicit your blog here. We are here to help people with problems, not advertise your site for you. If you would like to stick around and offer solid parenting advice or ask a question regarding your children, we welcome that. However, we do not welcome acting as a bot to drive traffic to your site.

Thanks.

apochimongitus

Jan 24, 2012