Thoughts on Co-sleeping...

CurtisGould

Sep 7, 2011
Hi all!
I am an undergraduate design major at Virginia Tech and am trying to get opinions on cosleeping. I have found studies that the number of parents who cosleep is increasing, but I know that cosleeping has some serious dangers (specifically suffocation) The questions I am looking for opinions on are.

If you do not currently cosleep, do you want to?

If you currently cosleep or have coslept in the past, what are/were your reasons?

What positive results of cosleeping do you see?

What risks do you believe are associated with cosleeping?

Would you be interested in cosleeping if there were not risks associated with it?

Everyone's insight would be greatly appreciated and I look forward to hearing from you all!!! Thanks so much!

Curtis Gould

Approved by M2M

Last edited by a moderator:

MomoJA

PF Fiend
Feb 18, 2011
I started co-sleeping with my daughter when she was around 8 months plus or minus a month or two, not for parenting reasons so much as out of necessity sometimes and out of convenience other times.

One reason I currently cosleep, other than laziness on my part, is that my daughter has asthma, and when she is having breathing trouble, it is worst at night. I want her in the bed with me so that I can monitor if she is going into distress.

I did not cosleep often when she was an infant because I was afraid of the horror stories. I didn't believe it would happen with me because I wake up if a feather hits the ground, but when you have a child you become completely paranoid about any possibility of harming them.