Grandma Treating Step-kids Differently...

mlperryman

May 15, 2011
This is my first time posting and I am looking for some advice on how to deal with my future MIL. My fiance and I have been together for 5 years and just got engaged a month ago. Both of us have 2 children each from previous marriages and a one year old together. His mom does not like me and neither or I can figure out why. But quite frankly, I don't even care anymore that she doesn't like me or that she doesn't approve of our upcoming marriage. What concerns me is how she is treating my children (the 2 I have from another marriage that are not blood related to her). Everytime she comes to our house to visit, she hardly adknowledges them and goes straight to the child we have together (or his 2 from a previous marriage if it's their weekend to visit). She is always bringing new toys and clothes for the 3 kids that are biologically his, but my 2 kids get left out. My children have called her "Grandma" for 5 years, even though she is not "technically" their grandma. I have discussed my concern with my fiance and he agrees with me, it's not right for her to treat them differently. We treat all 5 of our children the same. We don't do for one what we wouldn't do for the other 4. What happened today just really irritated me. She showed up at our house (unannounced) and brought 3 of the kids pictures to hang in their rooms. They were of something called spinart that she had made herself, so pretty inexpensive I'm sure. My 2 kids didn't get a picture. My fiance's kids weren't even there, but she made it very clear that those pictures were for them. She gave our 1 year old his picture and he just threw it in the floor because 1 year olds really don't care about things like that. My 2 children would have probably loved it though, not only because it was unique, but because they would have enjoyed being given a gift by their grandma. Has anyone else been in this situation that can help me out? I'm to the point