Proportioning of Responsibilities between Working Husband and Stay-at-Home Mom...

Bob

Apr 10, 2011
Hi all,

This is a very sensitive and important subject to me, so I really appreciate everyone's input.

My wife and I have been together more than 10 years and married for 5. We have two beautiful girls and I am completely in love with them.

I work full-time in a demanding high-tech job. I'm also studying full-time for my PhD (which will probably conclude in the next year). On average, I put in about 75 hours a week, sometimes peaking at 80+ hours (since January it's been 80 hours a week steadily). The salary is very good and has allowed us some decent creature comforts, though I do not enjoy any of them due to my long hours! The PhD will directly affect my job, both in salary and most importantly, job satisfaction.

My current schedule is that I start work very early so that I can be home at a reasonable time, have dinner and play with the kids. After they go to bed, I typically work on my thesis until the wee hours of the morning. Suffice it to say, I am stretched thin as far as time goes.